My daughter is a hugger. Always wanting a hug.

I know that hugging, and showing affection is important.

I understand that as her Dad it is important for me to show her physical expressions of love and affection.

Often, I sadly (and shamefully) confess, I act like I am doing her a favor when I give her a hug when she asks….

“Interesting fact: to be most effective at optimizing the flow of the chemicals oxytocin and serotonin – which boost mood and promote bonding – hold a hug for at least six seconds.”

Perhaps she is actually doing me the favor.

Hug those around you.

4 Responses to “”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    I never knew a hug should be at least six seconds……I will have to give this idea a rigorous testing today with my kids :-)

  2. Rika Says:

    Wow, this made me weepy with happiness. I need more hugs. I have to force my mom to give them most of the time, but I think I’ve been training her well.

  3. Margi Says:

    She is… she is… be more appreciative! I’ve had to tell my cat that hugging is paying the rent so I get one a week grudgingly, her sister though would rather be evicted and go back to the cat shelter than hug me…

  4. layne(herman) Says:

    Here is a followup to this post–

    I have always understood that giving affection is important; but learning about the 6 seconds has changed the way I hug my children. 1) I do not deny them when they ask for a hug. And 2) I hug them longer.

    I think it benefits us all. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

