circus peanuts

lately i have been craving the ‘circus peanut’ candy.

this craving is kind of interesting, to me at least, because i can pretty much take or leave the marshmallow.

and since i mentioned marshmallows…

i remember spending a summer in iowa. during my time there my cousin roger and i were buring a huge pile of branches and such. in the course of that burn, we roasted marshmallows– because nothing says flavor like food cooked over trash. my cousin found it amusing that my idea of the perfectly toasted marshmallow is not too different than the marshmallow that comes out of the bag.

10 Responses to “circus peanuts”

  1. Paula Says:

    You don’t like that “oops, I burned it, quick, blow it out” flavour?

    Well. I guess it takes all kinds.

  2. susanbournelis Says:

    nothing like fasting to bring up old food memories……good Holy Week

  3. aaron Says:

    Genius…

    “my cousin found it amusing that my idea of the perfectly toasted marshmellow is not too different than the marshmellow that comes out of the bag.”

    🙂

  4. Mimi Says:

    I’m very similar to you, Papa Herman, in that I like my marshmallows very lightly toasted.

    But, remember, I like pure sugar with not too much of that chocolate stuff, 😉

  5. simply victoria Says:

    I like my marshmallows covered in dark chocolate. yummm. maybe I should get some for my paschal basket.

  6. papa herman Says:

    marshmallows covered in chocolate… yes, yes, a desirable way to consume a marshmallow.

    that and also in the shapes of pink hearts, yellow moons, orange stars and green clovers in a bowl of Lucky Charms with milk.

  7. RC of strangeculture Says:

    i gotta say, it’s been a long time, but there is something magical about those circus peanuts.

  8. Mimi Says:

    that and also in the shapes of pink hearts, yellow moons, orange stars and green clovers in a bowl of Lucky Charms with milk.

    Yes, very much so! Yum.

  9. Mike Says:

    Thanks, Herman.
    You reminded me of when we would wrap big fat potatoes in aluminum foil, burying them 4 or five inches beneath the dirt, and then building a bonfire of pine needles, leaves and branches on top. We let the fire burn a few hours while we played under the cool October sun and then scraped away the coals and then the hot dirt, and dug out our treasure, not caring if we burned our hands. Peel away the aluminum foil, cut open the skin with the dull blade of someones dirty jack knife, slap down a slab of butter sliced from the wax paper enclosed cube one of us, er, had liberated from someone’s mom’s refrigerator cache and then blow until we couldn’t wait any longer. Best tasting potatoes in the entire universe. That’s what we would think as we ate and laughed. And how lucky we were to be eating them. Princes, we were, back then, and we didn’t even know it.

  10. bluecanopy Says:

    ahhh wordpress 🙂

    my ideal toasted marshmallow is singed to a black crisp. i peel off that layer and burn the next and repeat until there is no more mallow to burn. mmmmm.

Leave a Reply

