$138,095 a year

About eleven years ago, with the birth of our daughter, my wife quit her job and became an at home mom.

The decision was quite simple actually 1. She wanted to be an at home mom. and 2. I figured out that in order for my wife to keep her job and for us to be able to afford childcare that I would need to take a second job… in other words, I would have to be home less in order to have someone take care of my child. And so, my wife quit her job working with developmentally disabled adults and became an at home mom.

It has not always been easy financially, but on the other hand it has not really been that hard either; it has been a partnership and it has worked.

Being a mom is tough work, and I am sure that being married to me is no easy task either. I have joked with my co-workers that “I don’t know what my wife did today, but I do know that she worked harder than I did.”

Today I came across an article online:
“Stay-at-home mother’s work worth $138,095 a year”
Allow me to share some snippets from the article:

If the typical stay-at-home mother in the United States were paid for her work as a housekeeper, cook and psychologist among other roles, she would earn $138,095 a year, according to research released on Wednesday.

The 10 jobs listed as comprising a mother’s work were housekeeper, cook, day care center teacher, laundry machine operator, van driver, facilities manager, janitor, computer operator, chief executive officer and psychologist, it said.

The typical mother puts in a 92-hour work week, it said, working 40 hours at base pay and 52 hours overtime.

A mother who holds full-time job outside the home would earn an additional $85,939 for the work she does at home….

So the next time you hear someone say, “my mom doesn’t work” please set them straight!

You can read the entire article here.

7 Responses to “$138,095 a year”

  1. Paula Says:

    I read that article. Six figures a year, eh? That’s large cash. Maybe I’ll ask for a little bit more on Mother’s Day…

  2. victoria Says:

    wow! thank you so much for this! I stayed at home for many years when my children were little.
    it was such a good choice, and I applaud all women who make this choice.
    It’s hard, especially if you’ve already become accustomed to a certain lifestyle. Luckily, we had been poor students for so long, that we didn’t recognize it as hardship, only more of the same, which was pretty good wholesome stuff.
    I am definitely printing this article!

  3. Spoke Says:

    My mum earned well above that figure. Our home was spotless. You could lick the floor around the toilet bowl…literally! There was never a “staples shortage” in the larder and 3 meals were cooked without microwave/warm and serve crap, every day/night.
    The woman hated dust and scooped it up before it settled. The laundry hamper was perpetually empty and the floors and carpets were grit-free.
    In spite of this, she still managed to be a companion to my dad, a friend to my brother and me and come along on picnics, outings and holidays. Someone owes the woman $2.3 million.

  4. Mr H Says:

    Yes, I heard about this article…My husband came home and said “honey do you know that you’re worth 138,095$ a year?” This made me feel pretty good! I sometimes miss my old job…especially when things start to get tight, but I don’t regret it especially now when we have #2 on the way. Thanks for the reminder that stay at home mom’s are appreciated Herman!

  5. Mr H Says:

    by the way that was from MRS. H

  6. Margi Says:

    But she wouldn’t, if it was up to the government to pay housewives they’d get around $10,00 pa. I’ll bet what your wife earned for working with developmentally disabled adults was far less than it was morally worth. You can’t put a value on what a woman will do for her family whether she gives up a career and stays home or whether she goes out to work when she’d rather be at home. It’s trite and the idiot who did it wants smacked with a hockey stick AFTER accounting for the low wages paid to those who care for the un-cute elderly, for the difficult kids in “homes”, for the longterm mentally ill – you can’t name a job that requires love, compassion and self-sacrifice and follow it up with a good salary. I’ve been an RN/RSCN for 20+ years and the very people you want looking after the fragile elderly, the unwanted kids and the mentally handicapped are women who’d rather be home with their own families. You can’t put a price on that.

  7. Margi Says:

    I didn’t mean I don’t think Mrs Papa did the right thing staying home with your daughter – just that some virtues are spread thin today.

Leave a Reply

