save us

This evening at Vespers, some words from the Aposticha caught my attention:

We run to Thee who art God in truth, being always assailed through our unrighteous actions, and we offer Thee the words of Thy disciples who said: ‘Save us, Master, for we perish.’

What a powerful prayer– ‘Save us, Master, for we perish.’
What an accurate prayer– ‘Save us, Master, for we perish.’
In Whom can I hope– ‘Save us, Master, for we perish.’

In the midst of my fallings and failings I need to pray– ‘Save us, Master, for we perish.’

I need to run to God– ‘Save us, Master, for we perish.’
For God is good and the lover of mankind– ‘Save us, Master, for we perish.’

2 Responses to “save us”

  1. Mimi Says:

    Wow. I’ve not specifically noted that before. It is powerful indeed

  2. aaron Says:

    “Forestall me quickly, quickly for I perish.”

Leave a Reply

