i fall down, i get back up again

The other evening I made a run to a local store. As I parked I noticed an elderly woman making her way across the parking lot with her cart.

It was obvious that any help that would be offered to her would be a benefit.

But help was not offered by me. I did not want to be bothered.

Fortunately, not everyone felt this way.
As I made my way, walking across the parking lot to the entrance I saw another woman walk over to her. She offered the older woman help in putting her purchases into her car. This woman was an example to me.

I am ashamed to share this event, I did not do the right thing.
I did not offer help to another that would have only taken a minute or two. I was selfish.

I am not proud of my lack of action, but I share it as a reminder to myself. I share it in hope that it might stir your heart to help another person who could use just a minute of your time.

The words I think about at this moment are: ‘Evil triumphs when good people do nothing.’

Lord, forgive me.

2 Responses to “i fall down, i get back up again”

  1. Mimi Says:

    Sometimes seeing our sinfulness and lack of action helps us to correct it. Lord have Mercy. I love the phrase in our Pre-Communion prayer – forgive us our sins both willingly and unwillingly committed. – as it reminds me that sometimes it is what I DIDN’T do.

  2. symphonyguy Says:

    As I read and thought about this, I was reminded how incredibly complicated life is. There are so many demands on our time, attention, compassion, even, that we often walk around in a daze, numb to the need around us because we are on overload from reading, viewing and hearing about disasters and wars and evil across town, in the next state, and 1/2 a world away. I fear being oafish and missing opportunities to demonstrate God’s love. I also fear cowardice, being afraid to stand up and fight evil when doing so might actually cost me something more than a minute or two of my time. Thanks for the reminder and perspective…

Leave a Reply

