a ride at the reservoir

monsoon by easo andrews

Just got back from a nice evening bike ride at Bennington Lake (aka the reservoir) with Larry the Barista.

It had been a while since I had gone on a good hearty bike ride; the last one was in the Spring with Becket. So I figured that lethargic mucus that builds up in one’s lungs after a period of inactivity would be manifesting itself, but apparently I have not been as sedentary as I thot as no real lung hacking arose.

Anyways… The reservoir is an area that I have ridden before on many occassions but Larry led me on a path I had not previously rode on — it was a fun one! I did have to drop back a bit as I did not desire to eat too much of Larry’s dust.

Quite a few rabbits were spotted; Larry saw a deer. At one point we stopped and kicked back in an area that had a field with many dragonflys, which I enjoied seeing. At another spot we stopped to watch frogs jump from the shore into the water.

Even with all of this, as I rode among plants that were drying out I did notice a similarity between Summer and Winter — they both share a dormant quality that I had not previously noticed.

At the conclusion of the ride we put our bikes away and cooled down with some frosty Pabst Blue Ribbons.

It was good to be out riding again.

2 Responses to “a ride at the reservoir”

  1. libbie Says:

    I love the painting at the top of this blog.

  2. papa herman Says:

    I like the painting too. It is called ‘Monsoon’ and is by Easo Andrews. You can see more of his work at http://www.easo.net

Leave a Reply

