spontaneous camping

Friday afternoon my wife surprised me with an unplanned camping trip. Earlier in the day she had run into friends at the store who invited us to join them camping.

With my wife performing the finishing packing touches as I pulled up to the house after work, within a half-hour we were off to Jubilee Lake for a time of camping.

During our time camping we enjoyed:

–A morning visit from a deer in our campsite; and encounter that allowed Andrew the opportunity to feed a deer.

–Walks around the lake.

–Crawfish hunting and the first time that I have eaten crawfish.

–Campfires.

–Continued reading of ‘Into the Wild’ by Jon Krakauer.

–Being with my family and friends.

–And a surprise meeting…

We were completing a walk around the lake when we ran into a group of people. These people were from a Church and were camping in the campground as well. The youth pastor, turned out to be a friend of my friend Justin.

You might recall an earlier blogpost were I shared about an unknown couple buying me dinner. Due to a comment that this young man made I realized that this person was in the resturant that evening; and from a brief question I asked him I learned that it was he and his wife who had bought me dinner that evening. It was nice to meet him and have the opportunity to thank him and his wife and share with them about my reaction to their gesture.

All in all it was a great couple of days away. Relaxing.

I need a shower.

5 Responses to “spontaneous camping”

  1. Charlie Says:

    sounds very cool…nice few days…

  2. Barbara-Marie Drezhlo Says:

    You mean it was the FIRST time you ever ate crawdads? Mention mudbugs and every Russian in creation shall show up, eager to eat the little critters (we call them “raki”), bearing baskets of mushrooms and bottles of ice-cold vodka to accompany those lovely little morsels. (Fresh watermelon is perfect for dessert afterwards.) One of the better culinary delights, I say.

    You ate them in the right setting… by the lake, with family and friends, al fresco by the campfire. God is good, indeed!

    Vara

  3. papa herman Says:

    I look forward to the opportunity to eat them again –fun to catch, tasty little critter to eat.

  4. Elizabeth Says:

    Did you bring your camo Bible cover? 🙂

    Sounds like a great time! And those coincidences are always fun and astounding.

  5. Mimi Says:

    I can’t imagine a suprise camping trip being a good thing 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

