slogans

While driving the kids home from their friends house this evening, I was amused by the following backseat conversation:

Tansy- Get your seatbelt on. Do you want to go to jail?
Becket- It’s “click it or ticket.”

a brief moment of silence.

Becket- “Drive hammered get nailed.”

Papa Herman- What does “Drive hammered get nailed” mean?
Tansy- Drive drunk you will go to jail.
Tansy- Shouldn’t it be “Drive nailed get hammered”
Becket- The hammer pounds the nail.
Tansy- I still think it should be “Drive nailed get hammered.”

after listening to this banter I asked

Papa Herman: What does hammered mean?
Becket and Tansy: I don’t know.
Papa Herman: What does nailed mean?
Becket and Tansy: I don’t know.

They seem to have been adequately indoctrinated with the slogans– As to understanding the specific word usage in the slogan… I would say… ummm… a little… ify.

2 Responses to “slogans”

  1. Barbara-Marie Drezhlo Says:

    Umm… Nevertheless, it is that not how WE learned to use the language? We should not be looking for anything sinister in such. I do think that brothers and sisters have been tormenting one another for QUITE some time.

    Mea maxima culpa! As the oldest child in our family, I do daresay that I did my share (and more, if you credit my parents) of such! I speak as an expert on the topic!

    Your love for your children shines forth in your two latest posts, Papa Herman. God bless you.

    Vara

    PS
    Becket must have the bladder of a camel if his statement to you in the first post is true! Hmm…

  2. Mimi Says:

    That one always makes me giggle too.

Leave a Reply

