Mrs. Bitner

I had my first job at 15 1/2. I worked in a Convalescent Hospital as a “dietary aide” which was basically a fancy title for a guy who washed the dishes and helped the cook as directed.

Anyways at this Convalescent Hospital was an older woman named Mrs. Bitner. There was one particular interaction with Mrs. Bitner that I have never forgotten.

I would come to work in the afternoon and see her sitting at the table. One day I went up to her and asked her how she was; Mrs. Bitner replied: “Every night I pray to God that I will not live to see another day. Every morning I curse it for coming.”

How does a fifteen and a half year old kid respond to that??

4 Responses to “Mrs. Bitner”

  1. Mike Says:

    do you remember what you did? Certainly a comment like that would make you think…and for a 15 1/2 year-old male, that ain’t a bad thing…

  2. 01varvara Says:

    You still remember it… you have been unable to forget it. The only thing that you can do is to pray for the repose of her soul. Who knows… your prayers may lift her to heaven. Be certain to thank God for having met her, for otherwise you may not have been as good a man as you are.

    Do recall that we rise or fall TOGETHER.

    Pray for this sinner.

    Vara

  3. libbie Says:

    I still remember the years leading up to my grandmother death and how much pain and sickness she was in.
    She would say to us all the time “I just want got to take me”
    as it got closer to her death she started to ask why he wouldn’t take her.
    I never knew what to say to her but i remember how it made me think about my life and my medical choices and how i want to do things as i get older.

  4. Belladonna Says:

    It’s sad to think of this woman, and so many others, who have lost all capacity for joy in living. I am reminded of a quote by Agatha Christie who said: “I like living. I have sometimes been wildly, despairingly, acutely miserable, racked with sorrow, but through it all I still know quite certainly that just to be alive is a grand thing. ” I’m with her. I’ll take the pain, the lonliness, and anguish of this mortal world because through it all, every day is a wonder. That being said, I see no point in extreme efforts to prolong life. When I shed this physical reality to go to the next part of my eternal existance I am sure I will be every bit as deeply committed to THAT experience too.

Leave a Reply

