dirt

I have a thing about dirt… (maybe some day I will write more about this) on our family altar we have dirt taken from the gravesite of Bl. Hieromonk Seraphim (Rose), and dirt from the grave of St. Herman of Alaska.

A couple of years ago Fr Dcn Innocent (then just Innocent) was making a trip to Mt. Athos. Prior to his leaving I asked him if he would bring me back some dirt from Mt. Athos.

Upon his return he gave me some dirt that was taken from the grave of St. Seraphim of Sarov. He shared with me that while on Mt. Athos someone had given him the dirt, and when he received it he thot, based on my request prior to his leaving, that the dirt must be for me. And so when he came home he gave the dirt to me. What a wonderful gift.

I share this story because today, January 15 (Jan o2 on the Old Calendar -or as i sometimes call it, the “old school” calendar) St. Seraphim of Sarov is commemorated.

a-256.jpg

Also commemorated today is my dear wife’s Patron Saint, St. Juliana of Lazarevo. Many years!!

juliana-lazarevskaia.jpg

4 Responses to “dirt”

  1. mimima Says:

    Oooh, that’s really neat.
    And, Many Years to Juliana!

  2. John Says:

    Mnogaya Leta!

  3. aaron Says:

    Many years, Juliana!

  4. 01varvara Says:

    Herman… it is called “soil”… not DIRT! (smile… “false dudgeon”, sir!)

    Oh… it is not the “old calendar”, it is the “Orthodox calendar”. (I am not being picky… call it what you will, but, be careful!) That is how it is referred to in Russian sources. “Old calendar” is a term originating in circles we should not be emulating.

    Sotvori Gospodi na mnogaya lyeta, Juliana!

Leave a Reply

