weather

It has been rather cold lately here in Walla Walla, WA. Amidst the cold one can hear a common statement: “Oh I wish it were 90 degrees” (or whatever the speaker deems to be the comfortable warmer temperature. ) Of course come Summer the common statement will be, “I wish it were 75 degrees” (or whatever the speaker deems to be the comfortable cooler temperature.)

We human beings are just never satisfied.

Before we begin to bash the wimpy modern man we must realize that complaining about the weather is not unique to our times. In the 1800’s Kalli a young Esquimaux (Eskimo) man was taken to Britain on the HMS Assistance.

Apparently the British weather did not suit him, as seen in a letter he wrote dated April of 1853 (remember this is from a man who came from the Arctic region):

My dear Sir,

I am very glad to tell, How do you do, Sir?
I been England, long time none very well. Long
time none very well. Very bad weather. I know
very well, very bad cough. I very sorry, very
bad weather, dreadful. Country very difference.
Another day cold. Another day wet, I miserable.

Another summer come. Very glad. Great
many trees. Many wood. Summer beautiful,
country Canterbury.

For those so inclined, you can read the ebook: “Kalli, the Esquimaux Christian” (the source of the above letter) here

One Response to “weather”

  1. libbie Says:

    well one thing is very true he was very right. it is very wet here in europe. I myself am still not use to it. Who knew it could rain so much in one place…….but you want to know a secret?
    I love the rain.

Leave a Reply

