as seen through the eyes of a three year old

I wonder at times how my three year old son, Andrew, thinks and processes the information he takes in. Sometimes the results can be interesting.

The past two weeks we were in California following the death of my Father. During this time Andrew had the opportunity to see Grandpa in a casket at the viewing in the funeral home. Andrew thought that Grandpa was sleeping, which was pretty understandable. At the same time Andrew was pretty interested in knowing about Grandpa’s feet –following the viewing Grandma and my wife showed him Grandpa’s feet so he was okay with that.

But the amusing thing to me was when people would say to Andrew that Grandpa “…is with Jesus” Andrew would respond, “No. Grandpa is sleeping in Heaven.”

7 Responses to “as seen through the eyes of a three year old”

  1. faultsofhisfeet Says:

    That whole experience is very sad, yet touching. I appologize for the loss of your father, I couldn’t imagine. You have a very special child on your hands, and he sounds like he is going to grow up to be a very caring person. We need more of those types in this world.

  2. Mimi Says:

    Our youngest was three when my FIL died. I was often struck by how he processed it. My favorite comment was “My grandpa died. He can’t drive”

    Anyway, hugs and continued prayers to you guys. Welcome home.

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    Hugs and prayers from us too.

  4. 01varvara Says:

    “Out of the mouths of babes…” Is there truly anything to be said at such times? I embrace and kiss you.

    Vechnaya Yemu Pamyat.

    Vara

  5. handmaid Says:

    Memory Eternal!

  6. aaron Says:

    Still love your blog Papa.

  7. sara Says:

    the meshing of the temporal world with eternity is interesting. basil still has trouble understanding that saints we talk about were once on earth. he sort of gets it and yet not completely. very strange concept..even for us “grown ups” to wrap our heads around if you ask me. i’m beginning to appreciate mystery the more questions i find i don’t have answers for.

    may your father’s memory be eternal.

Leave a Reply

