don’t mess with bicyclists

About two weeks ago, as I drove home from work ,my car stopped running… no warning, it just stopped.

So I pushed it off of the road, walked to the YMCA where I called my wife and she arrived and pushed me home with her car. Since that day my car has not moved.

I am not much of an auto mechanic so my efforts to get my car running again has been pretty much limited to walking outside and seeing if the car will start. Since we are in Fall and Winter is approaching I am going to have to take my repair efforts up a notch. But until then I have been riding my bike back and forth to work.

This has not been too bad of an experience, mostly because the weather has been okay and no free running animals have tried to maul me, although I keep waiting for that one morning when a possum jumps out as I peddle my way to work in the darkness.

As I have explored the bike riding world that I have recently entered via the Internet I came across the following ‘bike self defense’ video… looks like bike riders can be a tough breed:

4 Responses to “don’t mess with bicyclists”

  1. libbie Says:

    I think what really made this video was the sound effects and awesome slow motion camera shots.
    Good luck on your bike riding adventures and remind me if I ever see you at a construction site on your bike not to start a fight with you.

  2. Peter Gardner Says:

    I’m reminded of the old Spike Bike series…

  3. David Says:

    Awesome,
    The only thing that could have made it any more awesomer was Ballroom Blitz as the sound track!!

  4. snow and bikes « in the process of weeding out Says:

    […] By layne I have written a couple of posts about my becoming a bicycle commuter. You can read them here, here and […]

Leave a Reply

