telling it like it was

When a person dies their obituary usually mentions a few significant events in the person’s life….

My wife brought to my attention an obituary in this evening’s paper. A portion of this obituary read:

He liked to smoke; especially cigars and never forgave the State of Washington for making him a pariah – forced to retreat to his car after banished from everywhere else, including his favorite bar. He liked to drink in moderation. He liked the taste and how it made him feel. He liked to eat whatever he enjoyed without being made to feel guilty by self appointed health zealots. He loved to travel by car. He loved the freedom of the open road – as long as he was driving an American car, preferably made by Chrysler.

Above all he loved his family – his lovely wife of 53 years, his three sons, four grandchildren and two great-grandchildren. In short, he loved life and just wanted to live it and leave it in his own fashion. In this he pretty well succeeded. What more could you ask for in life?

3 Responses to “telling it like it was”

  1. mike Says:

    Good, catch, Herman. I read this last night. Interesting obit. Avoided all the usual blather. Something appealing about a person who sees themselves as they are without all the self recriminations, self justification, whining and faux guilt. I mean, I get so sick hearing people whine about one minor vice or another: “I feel so guilty, I just couldn’t refrain from as if the act of manufacturing some degree of mock guilt over something so trivial will make them a better person. As far as I’m concerned, eat the twinkie and don’t eat it, but don’t make a big deal about it. Worry instead about the bigger stuff. Something to be said about the way our society has emphasized trivial outer bad behavior, like smoking and drinking and so on, while looking the other way as we slide deeper and deeper into a moral cesspool.

    So after I read this, I wished him God speed in his Chryler whereever he may be now…

    Cheers. Time for a drink and a smoke with a twinkie chaser…

  2. mike Says:

    oops…I put some text in the previous post in brackets and blogspot thought they were code so the ignored it and it makes the post read a little goofy…so, after the words, “I feel so guilty, I just couldn’t refrain….add the following….from eating that twinkie, smoking that cigar, eating red meat, eating red meat and enjoying it, admiring that man/woman’s ass….

  3. Belladonna Says:

    When I was teaching a college course in Death & Dying one of the assignments was for students to write their own obits. It was always interesting to see what sort of things they would include and what they would omit.

    I wish I had seen this post earlier so I could have clipped that particular obituary for my thanantology files… If I ever get a chance to run the class again this would definitely be something I would use as an example.

Leave a Reply

