but it was not snowing when i left the house this morning

Recently I have had opportunities to drive our car to work. For those of you in the Pacific Northwest you are aware of the snow that we had recently; but last week alot of it melted so I rode on two days. But still I have been driving this week, and so that combined with the food that I have been eating made be feel a bit… thick– for lack of a better description.

So I woke up this morning and decided that I would ride my bike to work. Looking out of the window it was a bit rainy, but that was okay because I have foul weather gear.

So I suited up and headed out just a wee bit before 5am.

As I got about 2 miles from home my hands were feeling cold so I pulled over and put my gloves on.

As I continued to ride I felt some gusts of wind, and what felt like ice? As I continued, yes… it was ice and sleet. I rode holding up my gloved hand to keep the ice from my eyes.

As I rode up to work I looked up into the flood lights and saw snow flurrying about. Well I was at work now so all was good.

I went to the locker room and changed, and when I came out I saw snow falling, with flakes about the size of quarters.

And the snow continued to fall….

The ride home was a slushy slow one.

But still it felt good to ride.

2 Responses to “but it was not snowing when i left the house this morning”

  1. libbie Says:

    I’m proud of you for bucking up and riding your bike when many would have turned back and when I say many I mean definitly me!

  2. aaron Says:

    very manly, papa. Manly, like Almanzo from Little House on the Prairie.

Leave a Reply

